Mirror work

I read about something called mirror work the other day. I’d never heard about it before then, but as I figured out what it was, it seemed pretty awesome. A bit weird and almost a bit frightening in a way, but totally something we should all be doing. Starting yesterday, really.

So what is mirror work, you ask?

Mirror work is as simple as this: you stand in front of a mirror to tell yourself how awesome you are.

Sounds easy, doesn’t it?

Well, for most, it’s not. Not even the slightest.

The world is overflowing of people who don’t love themselves; who think they’re not good enough; who think they’re fat, ugly, unlovable, useless, unsuccessful… You name it.

So mirror work is a tool everyone should use to start feeling better about themselves – and eventually love themselves. Because the world can never get enough love!

How do you do it, then?

Basically, you just stand in front of a mirror, look yourself in the eye, and tell yourself what it is that you need to hear.

One mirror work exercise that I really love goes like this:

– Stand in front of a mirror and look into your eyes. Say “I love you. I really love you.”
– Then, as you keep looking deeper into your eyes (no turning away!), you use your name. Say “I love you, [insert name]. I really love you, [insert name].”
– Say it again, and believe it. With all your heart, believe it. You deserve to be loved.
– Keep repeating this exercise, day after day, until it feels natural and 100% true.

It might seem silly and too easy, but like I said, it really isn’t. I can honestly say I love myself, but I still found it pretty difficult. You see, I’m very hard on myself when it comes to certain things, and that totally shone through when doing this exercise.
Some people who do this might laugh, some might cry. Some get angry or just feel stupid. That’s OK. Just stick with it, keep repeating it, and you will find that it will help you get to the bottom of some core issues you have with yourself.

Give it a go. What harm could it do anyway?

Endless love (for you and for me),

Jo

8 thoughts on “Mirror work

  1. I´ve read something about this a while back. But not as in-depth as your post! Well done!
    You´re right it is very hard for most people! I´ll have to give it a go, probably it´ll be hard for me as well, but as you said it becomes more natural. Yeah, I think I really need to try it. Thanks for sharing! I did really like your post. It´s very informative and really well written! XO

    Like

  2. I should probably give this a try. Maybe it’s something I could ACTUALLY stick to. 🙂 I always tell myself I’m going to put up some great meaningful quote by my bathroom mirror but it hasn’t happened yet. Womp womp.

    Like

    1. At least it’s a hard one to forget about – after all, we do look ourselves in the mirror quite often in a day! Give it a try, and let me know how you go! It’s definitely a bit weird to start off, but the result is an interesting one.

      Like

  3. I usually talk to myself seeing the mirror in my bathroom when i am depressed and want to hide my tears from the world…And all i see is an innocent face which makes me convinced that I am a great person for I have never wanted bad for anyone and one who has to achieve a lot for the pleasure of my soul and to bring about a change with positive energy…Actually this is how i calm down myself and feel motivated again!:)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Of course it works but i feel silly in sharing it with others and so i feel great pleasure reading your articles as you speak so frankly all this from your heart…Moreover its great that you too believe in all this magic 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You should never feel silly about something that works well for you! But if that’s the case, then you just don’t have to tell people about it 😉 Sometimes it’s better to keep little secrets than having to hear others opinion. Just keep doing your thing! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

