What’s in that gut?

NQOxtJXW(3),

Today I wanted to talk about the importance of your gut feeling/your intuition/your sixth sense/your whatever-you’d-like-to-call-it.

We live in such a fast-paced society that we often tend to forget, or can’t hear, the divine tools that have been given to us. And we have a truly amazing tool within that can more often than not tell us whether a situation is good or bad.

I’ll give you an example:

The other day I met up with a friend. She has just graduated from university, and was telling me about this job she had been offered upon graduating. It seemed to be an incredible opportunity and she was excited about that, of course.

“But I can’t shake this feeling…” she said. “It kind of feels as if it’s too good to be true.”

This weird feeling was both about the job as such, and the person who had hired her. There were all of these little things that I had to agree with sounded and seemed a bit odd.

So my friend’s gut feeling told her something wasn’t right. But the people she had so far spoken to basically told her not to be silly, and that this was “such a great opportunity”, “don’t blow it away and ruin it”.

But being completely trusting of my own gut feelings, I told her that she should definitely listen to that intuition of hers. Sometimes things do seem to good to be true, but they’re not – they just turn out to be that amazing. But then sometimes, unfortunately, these things certainly are too good to be true and shit hits the fan.

So what happened to my friend? She decided she was going to ask around about the boss and the business with teachers and supervisors from uni, before she signed the contract. But guess what?
She messaged me that same night saying she had quit. Turned out the whole thing wasn’t so great after all.

Trust me, your gut feeling is usually the one to tell you what’s right. But how do you know your gut feeling?

Basically, whenever you get a strange, indescribable feeling in your stomach – that’s your gut speaking to you. We can all learn to be more aware and sensitive to when our instincts are calling out to us, by trying to slow down in our lives.

If you have a big decision to make, take time to sit down in peace and quiet, maybe close your eyes and think about what is ahead of you. If you get an exciting kind of tingle in your body – go for it. But if you’re not quite sure, or if you get a sort of aching feeling, maybe even nausea, in your abdominal area – then it definitely needs some more revision, or should even be avoided completely.

My gut has a great, loud voice that is pretty much 100 % accurate, and I am super thankful for that. But I think that has come with a bit of practice, and also learning to actually listen to it, taking the time for it, and trusting it.

Even if it does end up being wrong every now and then, that’s not the end of the world, is it? I’d rather have it save me from something bad, than to not have listened to it all.

Give it a go. Get to know yourself and your gut, and do yourself a favour.

Endless love,

Jo

2 thoughts on “What’s in that gut?

  1. Our gut feeling is an excellent indicator of whether a situation is favorable or not. It’s our subconscious telling us that something is wrong.

    I was once in the shoes of that friend of yours, I accepted a internship when having a bad feeling about it. It turned out that that feeling was right. Since then, I always followed my intuition and am thankful I’ve learned my lesson.

    Like

Leave a Reply

