Just hit the switch!

human-793562_960_720

It still amazes me – even after years of practicing this – what an impact our thoughts have on our lives and how we feel. We can choose to see the rain or we can choose to see the lush, green landscape it creates.

Last week, I had a bit of a tough week. I felt like I didn’t get much done, and I felt stressed. I’m the kind of person who wants things to be done now, because I don’t like waiting (yes, patience is something I constantly work hard for…). On top of that I didn’t have a great week at work (performance wise).

So all this stuff built together and made me tired and completely lacking of energy, and even a bit grumpy (and I’m never grumpy!). I noticed it, though, and I knew it was my own fault.

So at the end of last week I told myself to shape up and pull myself together.

And so I did. I started shifting my focus and my thoughts. I let go of the things that were out of my control and went back to really putting positive thoughts out there.

On Tuesday I could feel the switch happening. It was like a different me on the inside (the real me). And yesterday, I had a great day!

This just goes to show how much we really affect our mood and our days. It goes to show that we are in full control of shifting things around, even when outside factors are doing their annoying thing. We choose how to deal with life and what it gives us, and we choose whether we’re happy or grumpy.

Sounds easy? Well, it kind of is – if you know how to do it. And that’s something you should take time to learn. I believe we’re all different in this (as in everything) and you need to find your ways of feeling that happiness.

But one thing we all have in common:

The control of our mind and thoughts.

This is the main switch. This is where the magic happens. When you learn how to control your own thoughts and what goes through them, you’ll know you’ve found the real treasure.

So take a thought watch. Listen to your inner dialogue; what you say to yourself and how you treat yourself (you should treat yourself how you would treat a small baby – with great love and care); how you react to events that are both in and out of your control; what you think of others (judging others is only a sign of you not being happy with something in yourself); and what you think of your life in general.

Watch those thoughts carefully, and whenever a bad one comes along, just hit the switch! Make that bad thought a good one instead. Even if you don’t believe it at the moment, you’ll be surprised at how much we can trick our brain. Eventually, that tricking will become reality.

Believe me, I know. I’ve tried it.

Do you want to have a better day? And a better life? 

Well then, what are you waiting for?!

Endless love,

Jo

6 thoughts on “Just hit the switch!

  1. I like this advice. I’m a bit of an amateur when it comes to mindfulness and awareness, and usually I’m able to just become aware of the negative thought. This alone, helps me disengage from it and it looses some of its power inside. But it I could actually become aware of the negative thought AND switch it, that would be cool beans 🙂

    Like

    1. The first step is to know that the negative thought is there – to be able to distinguish it – and the second step is to, like you say, disengage from it. The third step is to switch it into a positive one. So you’re well on your way, Marie Therese! Great work, keep it up, and you’ll go all the way! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I totally agree with you. Our thoughts create feelings and our feelings create actions. We do have the power to choose how to respond to life. I have a video about this concept on my Instagram. A shift in our thinking can make a difference.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

