Rock climbing – a brilliant metaphor

The other day I went rock climbing with two friends – another tick off the Life List! I’ve always wanted to try it, but somehow have never got around to it before. But anyway. It was awesome!!

 

DCIM100GOPROGOPR0309.
Yours truly, in action!

It was a lot harder than I thought it would be – and more mentally than physically, actually. You have the capacity to do it, but still you don’t quite believe it. But then, all of a sudden you reach the top and you can casually absail back down.

I thought of it afterwards and realized that rock climbing is a lot like life. At times, it’s easy and you move along smoothly and with a light foot. But then you’re faced by an obstacle that, no matter what angle you look at it, seems impossible to get past. You try everything, but again and again, you fail. Only when you try it one more time, just a little inch differently, do you succeed.

DCIM100GOPROGOPR0314.

It’s a feeling like no other, realizing that you’ve made it. You look back down the wall/road, thinking how easy it looks, but you’ll forever remember the spots where you got stuck.

If we just soldier on, we’ll all reach the top. Yes, there might be a massive-looking boulder in front of you, but put it all in perspective. Make that boulder as small as it looks from the ground. Shut out all the voices saying that you can’t do it, and do it anyway.

Because you can. You totally can.

(Oh, and I highly recommend trying rock climbing. It’s really cool!)

Endless love,

Jo

3 thoughts on “Rock climbing – a brilliant metaphor

  1. Congratulations on your new adventure! I did rock climbing once and I remember being stuck on the rocks like a bug. The instructor told me to put my left foot up high on a rock to keep going. I looked at the rock and where my foot was and I said how am I going to do that? He said just do it. I realized I had no choice, so I did it and lo and behold I was able to reach it. It’s so true what you said about believing we can do it. Wasn’t it fun repelling back down. At first it scared me and then once I leaned back into it, I relaxed….like life. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

