Meditation is not what you think it is!

thailand-buddhists-monks-and-50709-large

 

I wanted to take a moment to talk to you all about meditation.

Cue hopeless sighs/excited yays!

I know what you think. It seems to be either or: you either love meditation or you just don’t get it.

If you love it, that’s awesome for you (it really is, your mind and body must be so content!).
If you don’t get it, you should definitely continue reading, because chances are you’re like me – I used to think meditation was overrated and a bit pretentious. Which, in all honesty, it sometimes can be…

I remember attending my first yoga class and this horribly stiff teacher with the weirdest accent told us we had to make the belly push inwards as we inhaled, and let it blow up as we exhaled. Totally unnatural and ridiculously uncomfortable – not only for my belly, but for my entire body. And my head got tired from all the thinking.

But let me tell you, despite this weird experience years ago, I have been converted!

Meditation is awesome and will work incredible wonders for you (I even dare guarantee it) – if done in your own way!

 

 

Meditating in your own way is the only right way there is. There are no rules when it comes to meditation – you make your own rules!

This also means that meditation isn’t just about sitting in a quiet corner of your home (even though some people prefer this), but it can be anything from reading a book, taking a walk, enjoying a cup of morning coffee, taking a few deep breaths, or even going for a run.

Basically, anything that makes you aware of your own being and collects your thoughts so that they don’t run completely wild… That’s meditation!

Now, I’m still in the process of evolving my own ways, but even after just a short period of time can I see a difference in my stress levels (I don’t get as stressed anymore), in my mood (I worry less, for example) and my breathing (instead of shallow breaths I almost constantly take deeper breaths – even without realizing it – which is awesome for your body).

The benefits of meditation are endless:

Meditation_1
Picture borrowed from The Art of Living.

So… I just wanted to take a moment today to perhaps change your mind or perspective – because who’d want to miss out on these awesome benefits, and to improve their life quality?!

Whoever told you that meditation had to be done a certain way, in a certain style or pose, or during a certain amount of time, is totally wrong (and you should stop listening to them)!

59733643

 

May I suggest that today (or why not a couple of times during the weekend!) you try meditating in your own way? Whatever calms you down, do that. And do it for exactly as long as you like – it can be five minutes or two hours, you choose!

Remember: meditation is about relaxing your body and your mind, in whatever way feels good.

One of my favourite ways of meditating is by doing yoga. It helps me centre myself and focus on deep breathing, which really calms me down, but at the same time I don’t have to be completely still. Perfect!
Oh, and I also love staying in bed for a few extra minutes in the morning, looking out at the sky passing by…

What’s your favourite way of meditation? Please share in the comments! 

Endless love,

Jo

9 thoughts on “Meditation is not what you think it is!

  1. I meditate by sitting on a meditation chair in front of my altar. I listen to peaceful music and I say Ram over and over. I also hold prayer beads in my hands. I always end with a bow, namaste, and I ask God to bless someone different each day. Great tips on meditation!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

