FUN fact time!

I always used to worry what people would think of the real me, so as a kid I hid behind a wall, inside a shell. Growing up, learning more about life and myself, I have gradually realized that it doesn’t matter what other people think of you. As long as you’re true to yourself and love yourself, other people are going to love you too. Plus, we’re all pretty awesome, you know.

So today I felt like sharing a little something of me – some fun, random, and slightly odd facts, if you will, about myself, that I’m sure most of you don’t know of…

10 things you didn’t know about Jo

 

sweden-1473394_960_720

1. I’m from Sweden – and I hate cold weather. Like, despise it. It sometimes makes me kind of angry, even.
Although, I have to admit: Christmas (my favourite time of the year!) is a time of year when it definitely should be cold. And super cozy. And snowy. It’s just not the same in 30-40 degree heat (I’m looking at you, Australia!)…

 

jingles bells

2. My “go-to song” is Jingle Bells. You know, when you suddenly start humming or drumming on a song out of nowhere? Yeah, always Jingle Bells. Don’t ask me why… Maybe because I love Christmas that much?

 

doctor

3. When I was younger I wanted to become a doctor for forever – sometimes a neurologist, sometimes a pediatrician, sometimes even a medical examiner/coroner (eeew…!). I just love hospitals that much (I know, weirdooo).

 

regression

4. I’ve done several (about 15 or so, at least) past life regressions.
What’s a past life regression, you ask? It’s a form of deep relaxation, where you go into your subconscious to experience old memories from either your current life (things you wouldn’t normally be able to remember, like what it was like to be in the womb or being born), or from a past life, hundreds of years ago.

 

alcohol

5. I once had an ex-boyfriend who tried to spread a rumour that I had become alcoholic after our break-up (put yourself on high horses, why don’t you! was my only thought). This attempt of his did not work out, of course. Those of you who know me in private knows how absurd it sounds. For those of you who don’t: I would probably be the last person on the planet to develop an abuse of any sort. I’ve never even smoked a cigarette! I mean, I do love a good party (who doesn’t?!) but I’m definitely a sensible drinker. Except for about three times in my life…

 

6. I had a complete straight A report card finishing primary school (which is up to year 9 in Sweden and the finish of compulsory education, before moving on to high school). I have a really easy time learning things.

 

icon-1294819_960_720

7. Speaking of school, I once, out of pure protest, refused to write an assignment in high school. We had been promised that our grade in a certain subject was going to be based on this massive exhausting exam we had to do, when after the exam the teacher decided that, nah, we had to write a ten page essay as well. I said no, and my punishment was a C. Still passed it, though. No regrets. There’s nothing in this world that makes me more angry than unfairness.

 

8. I am ridiculously scared of all insects. Like, panicky scared. They just freak the hell out of me with all their gross legs and weird bodies and stuff. If I could, I would wipe them all off the face of the Earth. But I’m pretty sure Mother Nature wouldn’t approve of that… Plus, I’m not that cruel, I guess.

 

meat

9. I don’t eat red meats because it gives me migraines. True story. For years I suffered unknowingly, until one day I stopped eating pork, beef and lamb, and so the migraines ceased. And I’m apparently not the only one with this weird allergy.

 

ängel edit

10. Since a very young age I’ve been talking to my angels. I used to think I was just making it up in my head like a crazy person, until I was once completely startled at the answer of a question I asked (OK, I don’t hear voices, I just feel them, in some inexplicable way. If you know what I’m talking about, you’re as lucky as I am). Plus, who can forget the beautiful Dumbledore quote: “Of course it’s happening inside your head, Harry, but why on earth should that mean that it is not real?” Oh, the wisdom I’ve learnt from those books…

 

Now, tell me something fun about yourself in the comments! I’d love to get to know you a bit better, too! 🙂 And don’t forget to fully embrace who you are – both the “normal” and the weird stuff… You’re perfectly awesome just the way you are! ❤

Endless love,

Jo

PS. I’ve started a Facebook page for this blog! If you enjoy my posts, come and join our growing community, for daily inspiration and motivation. I’d love to see you there! xx

 

10 thoughts on “FUN fact time!

  1. I totally love this post!! So great to have gotten to know you better:-) I really like your attitude of embracing every little thing you are. That´s the way to go. Cheering you on, over here!
    What are some fun facts about me? Let´s see. My go-to song is Adele´s Someone like you, don´t know why…probably because it was the first song I ever learned by heart and it always spoke to me. Luckily I´ve never had an ex-boyfriend like that. So sorry for you, but hey, you made the right decision of leaving him! But like you, alcohol and red meat are just not for me. I don´t work that way. good to know I´m not alone:-)
    Love your post so very much! Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I thought it’d be something fun to share, a little bit more personal 🙂
      Oh, Adele, gotta love her songs! “Someone like you” appears a lot on my mind, too.
      I honestly never cared much about it, because everyone knew he was just being stupid anyway, haha. I guess you can say it backfired on himself, rather 😉
      Thank you for sharing your fun facts! Seems were quite alike in some ways 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I enjoyed this blog post!
    I didn’t know you were originally from Sweden and don’t like cold weather.
    I am from Scotland and when I was 16 years old I played the cornet in a brass band in the Sydney opera House.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good to know more about you Jo, I am from originally from Cameroon in central Africa but residing in Belgium. I have learnt to deal with the cold weather;-). I am a Christian and a lover of people, I enjoy meeting and talking with people from different cultures….

    Nice interacting with you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love finding out more about you! I have an old friend from Cameroon, it seems to be a lovely country with wonderful people 🙂
      I guess Belgium is a little bit colder than what you grew up with, but the different seasons have their beauty too, don’t they 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I really admire you sharing yourself so freely. It’s inspiring, especially since I’m always working on being more open and confident around others.

    What are some interesting things about me?

    I once hiked 42 miles in 17 hours with a full backpack.

    I have family on four continents.

    I pick up on languages fairly easily (I’m practically fluent in Spanish, and I’m starting to learn French).

    I’m also fairly adept at music. Like languages, it just comes naturally to me.

    And, like you, I wanted to be a doctor right up until I graduated college!

    Thanks for sharing, Jo!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

