Your own BEST friend

20160607_072323(redigerad)

 

Would you say that you are your own best friend? Or does the thought of that make you laugh out loud, or want to jump off a cliff simply so you don’t have to spend time alone?

We’ve already spoken about how in order for you to be as happy as you possibly can be, you must love yourself. But another thing that is equally as important, is to befriend yourself.

The reason you need to not only befriend, but become best friends with yourself, is because that ensures that you will enjoy every step of your life’s journey. Becoming best friends with yourself means that you will always have enjoyable company through the different stages of life, because you are comfortable in your own presence. You can trust yourself. And that’s a biggy when you’re trying to reach your highest state of happy.

I know a lot of people are afraid of it, but being alone is not a bad thing and we must try to not view it with such negative eyes. We all need to be alone every once in a while, all of us for different reasons, but mostly because of what it teaches us.

It is only in solitude that you can learn to understand yourself, and hear your inner voices of wisdom. It is in solitude that we start understanding the world and its ways. And it is through solitude that we actually start appreciating life and all that the universe gives us – simply because we have the time and silence to reflect upon it all.

So don’t be afraid to spend time with yourself. It’ll do you good – especially if the thought of it makes your stomach turn inside out.
And I’m sure you’ll find that the girl/guy in there is actually really fun and pleasant to be around, if you just make the effort to get to know her/him properly.

Endless love,

Jo

PS. Come visit me on Facebook, and let me know what you think of my new page! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Your own BEST friend

  1. Great post Johanna! I enjoyed the read and I can really relate! Living abroad tought me a lot about self time. I passed by hating staying by myself to actually loving it and needing it! And I also realised that it’s really a precious thing. Thank you for sharing this post 🙂

    P.S.
    I love your new Facebook Page! 🙂

    Lisa | http://www.fromdreamtoplan.net/

    Like

  2. Oh my goodness this post resonates with me so much. I grew up (and still am to a degree) as an introverted. My friends always asked me to hang out but in many cases I prefered staying at home doing my thing and read or even play the computer.

    This time with myself was to precious to me. I am so grateful that myself and I are best friends today. I am not seeking anyone’s approval and I can approach the world more confidently.

    I truly love this post so thank you for this beautiful thing.

    P.S. – AMAZING picture 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You sound just like me when I was a kid! It definitely has made it so much easier to spend time with yourself, and like you say, you become more confident with certain things 🙂
      I’m glad you liked the post and the picture, and thank you for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

