Excuse me…

20160914_113127

 

Have you ever heard these excuses before?:

 

“I don’t have enough money.”

“I don’t have enough time.”

“It’s too hard.”

“It’s not my fault.”

“I would do it – if only…”

 

Maybe you even recognize yourself in them?

That’s totally okay, we all do it – we all make excuses in order to not have to deal with what we really should be dealing with, and in order to go easy on ourselves.

But the truth of the matter is that you can make as many excuses as you want, but it’s not going to change anything. Your life and how you live it is still going to be your responsibility, no matter how much you blame others or outer circumstances.

I wrote a Seed for TheSeeds4Life that was posted on Friday and I was surprised to see how some people commented with excuses as to why they couldn’t live life to the fullest. At first I got a bit upset because these people hadn’t understood my message, and I thought that maybe I just didn’t express myself well enough. But as I realized that so many other people had understood my message, and resonated with it, I realized that these other people were just making excuses.

And of course, as always, that had me thinking.

Why do we make excuses, when surely, deep down, we know the truth?

I mean, I make excuses all the time, and catch myself in the act of doing it, too. It annoys me every time, because I think I should know better. But maybe it goes deeper than that. Maybe making excuses is part of our nature, or maybe we’ve been taught from the get-go to do so. Maybe it’s a type of defense mechanism, just because it’s sometimes kind of hard to face reality and own up to it?

What do you think? Why do we make excuses that don’t serve us and our lives? And what’s the best way to change this behaviour?

Endless love,

Jo

10 thoughts on “Excuse me…

  1. I think we make excuses out of fear. When we make an excuse, it kind of makes it okay not to do what we are afraid to do. Also, I think making excuses is a way of making ourselves feel better when we can’t do something; then we don’t have to deal with the fallout. As far as changing, I think we need to stop and think about what we are afraid of and we need to own our behavior and choices rather than make excuses for them.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. When I catch myself making an excuse, I ask if it is an excuse or a reason. I think excuses are justifications for our actions or lack of actions. For me, a reason looks deeper at the cause. Many times when I make an excuse, and I hate to admit this, but it’s because another person made me feel defensive. Thanks for the opportunity to think about this concept. I’m on the lookout for my excuses now!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Powerful thank you for adressing this issue. I myself think people make excuses out of lack of DESIRE. When there is desire one can over come all other hindering factors like fear, the surrounding environment and even disaiblity. Thus it is important for one to develop his/her desire and program her mind set to an extent that you start living to achieve what ever you set and find each hurdle as a stepping stone not an excuse.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

