Changes.

dawn

 

OK, friends.

I asked and I sure did receive!

I wanted to change things up a bit. Take it a step further, in the right direction.

So I asked you for help and you were so, so kind to provide it!

Can I just take a moment to say:

Thank you thank you thank you!!!

 

You have given me some great insight in what’s missing and what needs to happen around this space. There was one common factor throughout all the comments and emails I received:

 

                                “Show us more of you.”
                                                                                                    “I want to get to know you.”
         “Tell us about your life experiences and your skills.”
                                                                                                                  “Share your own stories.”

 

So you have spoken and I have totally listened.

What this blog needs is more of ME. On a deeper, relatable level.

You want to know more about me as a person, my experiences, what tools I use in life to stay positive and to create for myself exactly what I want. You want to know how I became who I am.

 

The present Jo

Who I am today and why I am the way I am have depended on a lot of different things. Of course. Like for all of us, all of you.

But when you guys asked to see and understand more of me, I must admit that it first kind of frightened me. I’ve tried doing that on this blog before, and it worked for a while, but then I ended up going back to my old comfortable, closed-in self.

The truth is that I don’t usually share a lot of myself. There’s a very small group of people on this planet who truly know me exactly as I am.

This is not because I don’t want to share, but because my past and my childhood have shaped me a certain way.

I grew up with a single mum. She was amazing, but she was all we had, my siblings and I. We grew up only being able to depend on each other, the four of us (my mum, me, my brother and my sister). And although I would, without the blink of an eye, say that I had an amazing childhood with everything I could’ve asked for, I suppose that’s not entirely true, come to think of it.

I didn’t have a dad to look up to. He came and went however it suited him, and it broke me every time he left and every time he came back. My grandparents were very distant, some at heart and some in actual distance. The only time I saw my aunts and cousins (we were actually a pretty big family) were at family gatherings where we all had to attend.

All of this – not having that loving network of people to trust when growing up – have caused me to not be very open towards people. Because every time that I did open up it meant that I would be close to crushed, and always heart-broken.

Anyway, this is the whole reason why it frightens me when you guys ask for more of me. I know that I have lots to give, but giving it is the scary part!

 

bloom

 

But don’t I always talk about taking the leap and encourage you to do the things that scare you?

 

So I also found that the whole thought of giving more of myself was actually really intriguing.
For the first time, I felt like I really wanted to give more of myself to complete strangers (OK, I know that sentence sounds a bit weird… But you get what I mean) – simply because I don’t want to be strangers with you!

So this will be my new challenge. I’m going to grow with the challenge, and become a better version of myself.

No more anonymity. This is me.

 

14384124_1279859985366534_507789537_n

 

Stay tuned the next couple of days to hear more about which were THE life-changing moments for me, and how I became the Jo I am today.

 

With endless love, forever,

j7

10 thoughts on “Changes.

Leave a Reply

