Having a bad day? Try this!

dream-filter-infrared-surreal-large

 

The other day I had one of those days that a lot of people call shit days. All day, I had way too much to do and to think about at my day job, at the same time as I was meant to train three(!) new people at the same time, and it caused me to totally stress out to the point where I got neck pains and a bad head ache at the end of the day. As I was on my way home, I couldn’t stop thinking about the day and whether I had done everything that I needed to do and whether I had done everything right.

I was cranky, and I had lost all my energy. I was just overall annoyed with everything and everyone.

As I finally stepped foot inside my home, and found my wonderful man waiting for me with dinner already in the oven (normally he’s the best at cheering me up, but it still didn’t work that evening…), and still felt cranky, I knew it was up to me to set things straight. It’s just not worth it letting a bad day at work ruin your whole evening, too.

So here’s the thing – I’m not gonna lie – sometimes I get really, really tired of my day job (I’m sure I’m not the only one out there?). And it gets worse when I think of how it’s not at all what I want to do with my life.

But I also know that none of that whining and the crankiness will do any good! Thinking of how much I don’t want to go to work is only going to make the situation worse, and it will never ever get me where I really want to go.

So that night, I decided it was time to visualise.

 

Are you sick of your job? Or any other aspect of your life?

 

Well, it’s time to stop thinking about all the things that are wrong about the situation, and just decide how you really want it to be!

Here’s HOW you do it:

Visualisation Practice
  1. Sit or lie down in a quiet space, where you can be alone for about 10 minutes without any disturbance.
  2. Close your eyes and take five deep breaths – and I mean stomach deep kind of breaths. Fill up your belly and your chest with air and then slowly breathe it out again. Feel your body and mind settle down, and all your muscles relax, more and more with each breath.
  3. Before your mind’s eye (your eyes should stay physically closed), see yourself in your preferred situation, and acknowledge the feelings you would feel when in that situation.
    For example: In my visualisation practice I imagined myself waking up in the morning, in a beautiful house (the house of my dreams), slowly and relaxed getting up to do some yoga outside in our lovely garden to welcome the day. I felt so much peace, love, and joy in and around that house it was almost magical!
    After my yoga practice, I walked back into the kitchen and made breakfast for my man and our little family (yes, in the future we will definitely have babies!). I felt absolutely filled with love, and I even noticed how I actually started smiling!
    As the others left the house – our kids to go to school and my man to go to
    work (or something) – I headed over to my home office with a nice, big cup of tea. This is where my focus was for this visualisation, because here, it was time to “work”. I saw myself walk through the room, touching the books in the bookshelves, feeling the fabric on the chairs across my desk and the way the floor boards and the lovely white mat in there felt against my feet. Then, I sat down at my big, beautiful desk (moving a hand across the wood and then the keyboard of the computer) to do the work I really want to do. In my actual body I felt the feeling of excitement, pride, contentment and success, working for myself and doing what I want to do; making my own rules and decisions; working with amazing, inspiring people who help me along the way; doing something truly fulfilling. I stayed in that moment of visualisation for a while, just to feel that joy and freedom grow stronger and stronger.
    Now it’s your turn! What will you see and feel in this step of the practice?

  4. Make sure you say “Thank you” for all the good things you experience during your visualisation, and for them being about to actually coming true (being grateful in advance for something we want to receive is such an amazingly powerful tool!) because of you practicing to create your near future.
  5. When you feel happy and satisfied – I’d say about 10-15 minutes later – take another five deep breaths before you open your eyes. Stay put, even after you’ve opened them, and enjoy that feeling lingering with you, for just a little while longer.
    And now, we’re all ready for a relaxing and joyful day and/or night! No more stress and crankiness! 🙂

 

This really worked for me, changing my mood and energy after a crazy stressful day, and I had a lovely, fun night with my man! I’ve decided to keep this practice going every day for 10 minutes (because who doesn’t have a spare 10 minutes, right?!), simply because I know that this is the best and easiest way to make reality of our thoughts and wishes!

Just remember to feel what you would actually feel – all the sensations going on in your mind and body – it’s the key to making it all come true!

Good luck!

 

Now please share! What will you visualise into reality?

 

Endless love,

signatur

8 thoughts on “Having a bad day? Try this!

  1. Wow,its really an amazing feeling to imagine or rather visualize all that i want in my future.No one knows if I am really going to make up to that but repeatedly thinking over it makes me so excited!
    Thanks for sharing all this this! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s so great to hear! The whole point of this kind of practice is exactly that – to get you excited. And in turn you’ll hopefully find more motivation, knowing what’s next coming if you decide to make it happen!

      Like

  2. I love this Johanna! Just reading it already put a BIG smile to my face. I have had bad days lately but I’ve been putting aside how I’m feeling and I know what I am doing is just the easy fix…perhaps because I am also busy at work…but I’m excited for the weekend so I could finally focus on the issue and make the right decisions. I would definitely do this visualising things. Great advice! Thank you! ☺

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you’re finding this useful, Nina! Give it a try, maybe it’ll show you some clarity. It sounds like you need some quiet time anyway, to settle your thoughts and center your mind. Let me know how you go!
      Most importantly, make sure to have a great, relaxing weekend! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

