Ground work – 10 ways to ground yourself

grounded

 

The other day I was out walking when it suddenly hit me that I haven’t grounded myself in quite a long time. So it was totally about time.

But what does it mean to “ground yourself”?

Grounding ourselves is something we need to do every now and then to stay focused, to stay happy and content, to not live in our heads too much but to get in tune with our bodies and our senses. To pay attention.
Grounding yourself basically means that you start listening to your body to find your way back to your core, so that you can figure out what’s going on in there and if anything needs to change.

As you already know from last week’s post, I have recently been having issues with stress and taking on too much work for myself. And I know that’s partly because I was starting to get stuck in my head. I had these ideas of things I “had” to do if I wanted to get certain things, and was almost starting to forget that it’s not in the head space I need to hang out, but in the heart space – that’s where you get things done!

But anyway – back to my walk: I came past this big park in my nearby neighbourhood, with beautiful, emerald green grass and some really cute trees.

So obviously I decided to take my shoes off and walk barefoot, feeling all my senses rise up and recharge my body.

This is a great way to ground yourself, but what are some other ways?

Don’t worry, I’ve got you covered!

 

how-to-ground-yourself

 

10 ways to ground yourself

– Walk barefoot through soft grass

– Hug a tree

– Do grounding meditation/visualisation

– Stand in the ocean and feel the sand between your toes

– Dance your heart out without judgment

– Take a walk in the woods

– Spend time in the most quiet/peaceful place you know

– Yoga (outdoors)

– Leave your phone at home while you go on a day trip

– Feel the wind (and I mean really feel it)

Now, it’s not a coincidence that most of these tips involve our beautiful Mother Nature, because she has her own, very special and foolproof ways to help us find our way back to ourselves. When we spend time in the vast outdoors we tend to realise how small we are and how much there is in the world that doesn’t revolve around us – and that it’s still working perfectly fine no matter what we do.

So if – or should I say when? – you decide to try any of these tips, make sure you do it with all your heart, mind and body. Really feel what’s going on outside and inside of you, listen to the different sounds around you, and be all there in that moment.

I promise you’ll feel like a fresh, new person afterwards, full of new energy, new ideas, and new life.

Enjoy your weekend, friends.

Endless love,

signatur

18 thoughts on “Ground work – 10 ways to ground yourself

  1. Walking barefoot to feel the naked Mother Nature is the best thing… We automatically will feel ourselves grounded because we are made from the 5 elements ..
    A lovely post and thank you for sharing it… 🌹😊

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you for posting that post.

        It is so beautiful post and you have given others to know a bit of such important thing of life. Indeed I am grateful to you for sharing as it is a gift, a blessing from the being you are…

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I have been “grounding myself” for a while now. Sometimes if my emotions start racing I will physically ground myself by putting my hands on a wall and breathing. I walk outside on the pavement without shoes and socks. My therapist told me to push my foot into the floor and dig in when I need to ground myself inside. She said when I’m having a trauma response I need to ground myself. One way to do that she said is to just move my body; it breaks the frozen response. Thanks for the reminder!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. People are so much more powerful and real when they come from a place of groundedness. Thanks for sharing this. I have just started a poetry blog in case you have time to have a look? Have a good evening 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

