Getting back in the game

happens2

 

Some of you might have noticed that I haven’t been as active as I normally am around this blog. I had big plans a couple of months ago, but they’ve kind of fallen behind lately. And, well, I thought I needed – and wanted – to explain what’s been going on.

If you’ve been with the blog for a little while, you know that I had a meltdown a few weeks ago, and that I’ve been working hard on grounding myself since then.

A few weeks ago I went to the doctor for a completely different and very simple reason, but when she ran some tests on me it turns out there’s actually a reason to why I’ve been completely lacking motivation lately; why I’ve been so ridiculously and indescribably tired; why I’ve been going kind of nuts without any apparent reasons; and why my body has been acting strangely.

I thought it was all due to stress that I’ve caused upon myself and that it would just go away with time.

But I was apparently completely wrong.

Turns out I have hypothyroidism – basically, an insufficient thyroid that’s not producing the hormone it’s meant to produce. And that’s why I haven’t been myself lately – not because of something I caused upon myself, but because my body was trying to cope with the lack of something that’s vital to it.

At first I thought the doctor was wrong. I mean, I’m such a healthy person! I’m practically never sick! But then as I really thought it through I suppose it makes sense. Hypothyroidism does run in my family, so it wasn’t that unexpected after all. And frankly, it’s a bit of a relief, in a way, to find out that whatever has been happening is actually not my fault, and definitely not due to laziness.

So the doctor prescribed me some medication – a high dose of thyroid hormone in the form of a daily pill – and asked to come back for new tests.

What the doctor failed to tell me, though, was that there was a risk that my body would freak out due to the fact that I was now going to go from zero to a thousand in an instant.

So the last couple of weeks has been a bit of a haze. Imagine what it feels like when you’re a bit tipsy – slightly dizzy, your brain’s not quite working as normal, you’re confused and forgetful, and all up weird… That’s what I’ve felt like constantly for two weeks. I also had to go through my first ever panic attack (can I just say that I feel for the people who suffer these regularly. WTF? is all I can say) and I’ve been weirdly emotional (I spent one whole day crying. Literally, a whole day…)

But this is all because my body is adjusting to what it’s actually like to suddenly have the hormones it’s been missing.

And yesterday I realised that I’m finally starting to feel different. The motivation I’ve been lacking for so long is slowly starting to come back, and I’m not as tired anymore. In general, I think I’m starting to feel a little bit better.

 

20161206_160749
My current affirmation: My life is full of light and happiness. Always.

 

The only question I have now is: Am I going to have to deal with this for the rest of my life?

But then I figure… So what, really?

If it is for life, then so be it. There’s not much I can do about it, if that’s the case. Sure, I might have to take a pill for the rest of my days, but that’s definitely not the end of the world. As long as I can keep my thyroid levels up and right in some way, I’ll be happy.

I will make it work, no matter what.

Besides, I’m feeling totally ready for 2017. Bring it on, world! I have a feeling this year will be a pretty magic year…!

 

Thank you for staying with me!

 

And Happy New Year! 🙂

 

Endless love,

signatur

 

18 thoughts on “Getting back in the game

  1. Hi Johanna,Another great post!  Thanks for sharing your personal struggles, journey, and victories.  I love your “can-do” positive attitude.  Keep sharing your message and influences lives.  You’re doing a great work!! Gary  Gary Greeno Lincoln High School Mathematics Instructor Men’s Head Basketball Coach FCA Huddle Leader Office: 209-953-9574 Cell: 916-747-6323 Fax: 209-476-0235

    From: Create your life To: coachgreeno@yahoo.com Sent: Friday, December 30, 2016 12:38 AM Subject: [New post] Getting back in the game #yiv2375845496 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv2375845496 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv2375845496 a.yiv2375845496primaryactionlink:link, #yiv2375845496 a.yiv2375845496primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv2375845496 a.yiv2375845496primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv2375845496 a.yiv2375845496primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv2375845496 WordPress.com | Johanna Rosberg posted: ” Some of you might have noticed that I haven’t been as active as I normally am around this blog. I had big plans a couple of months ago, but they’ve kind of fallen behind lately. And, well, I thought I needed – and wanted – to explain what’s ” | |

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad you are feeling better. I had two blood tests show the same thing for me. Then they did a full panel including the antibodies test and it was negative. It runs in my family too. I know it’s scary thinking about taking a pill for life, but if it makes you feel better, you’ll not only get used to it, you’ll appreciate it. I am so grateful for my medicine. I couldn’t be healthy without it. Sorry to hear about your panic attack; yes they suck! I know many people with thyroid problems. I keep thinking what are we doing to our bodies that everyone is having the same problem? Is it food? Bottled water? Who knows? It does take time adjusting to get the dosage right. My dr played around with a dosage of one of my meds and it made me manic, and then I crashed. It was a bad 2 weeks. Now she put me on a new medicine and I am feeling so much better! Hang in there! Traci xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is good to hear, thanks for sharing your thoughts about it, it’s always good to hear someone else’s perspective. Like you say, I definitely appreciate the fact that there is a pill that can almost magically fix it for me! It’s really not bad at all 🙂 xo

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Firstly commenting on the photo,I would say it is absolutely true that most of the time its our mind that goes through the ups and downs and not our life.Secondly I am really happy that you discovered the cause of your lacking exuberance.Few months back,something similar happened with me.My Vitamin D level went so low that I had difficulty lifting myself from the bed and walking around my own house.I thought I have turned lazy and so was constantly criticising myself and sometimes tried motivating myself.My mind was filled with so much of confusion and I was too literally crying and badly praying to God regarding my weak state.However discovering the cause,it is so much relief!
    Take care Ms.Jo and have your medicines on time.Since now you will have to eat it daily so take it all as a part of your life!:)

    Like

    1. Isn’t it rather interesting that we just assume that we’ve become lazy – even though we’re not normally lazy people – instead of realizing that something is wrong in our bodies? Sometimes I think we’re a little bit too hard on ourselves… But I guess that’s the way of ambitious people!
      I hope you’re feeling much better now, anyway! And thank you for your support! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah,being usually fit and (as you said)ambititious,we cannot imagine ourselves to be unwell.’Something is wrong in our body’ is the lasy thing that comes to our mind!
        Anyways since I am taking supplements,I am fine.Hope you are fine too Ms. Jo.

        Like

Leave a Reply

